History of Faculty of Education

interface friendly learning at DJERD

The Faculty of Education is the oldest Faculty in the Delta State University which started in 1985 when the University was still under Bendel State University, Abraka Campus. As at the time the Abraka Campus of the Bendel State University became a full fledged University (Delta State University, Abraka) in August, 1992, Professor G. C Igborgbor was initially made the acting Dean, before Professor O. S. Okobiah became the first substantive Dean of the Faculty.

Currently, there are ten (10) Departments in the Faculty of Education, which is as follows:

S/N Departments
1 Business Education
2 Educational Management and Foundations
3 Guidance and Counselling
4 Health and Safety Education
5 Human Kinetics, Recreation & Sports Science Education
6 Library and Information Science
7 Science Education
8 Social Science Education
9 Technical Education
10 Vocational Education
The following professors have functioned as Dean of the Faculty since its inception:
S/N Name
1 Professor E. A Arubayi
2 Professor O. S. Okobiah
3 Professor G. C. Igbogbor
4 Professor Orona Oroka
5 Professor C. E. Mordi
6 Professor P. O. Ikoya
7 Professor E. P. Oghuvbu
8 Professor Emperor Kpangban (Current Dean)

Current Issue


Articles In Press


Published Articles


Published Conference Proceedings

Recent Issues

Departments in Faculty of Education

Business Education

Educational Management and Foundations

Health and Safety Education

Guidance and Counselling

Human Kinetics, Recreation & Sports Science Education

Library and Information Science

Science Education

Social Science Education

Technical Education

Vocational Education

our video

upcoming events

28 August

DJERD online Hosting

  • 10.00 am - 2.30 pm
  • Campus 3 Faculty of Education conference room.
8 May

Call for Articles

  • 10.00 pm - 3.30 pm
  • Faculty of Education conference room.
20 September

Call for Conference Papers

  • 12.00 pm - 7.30 pm
  • Online Upload .

Books Published by Lecturers in Faculty of Education